Annual Scholarship

In support of our workforce of tomorrow, the Chamber each year awards three scholarships to graduating seniors: one each from James River and Lord Botetourt High School and at the Botetourt Technical Education Center. Each recipient will receive a $1,000 scholarship paid directly to the institution they are attending at the beginning of the school year.

To be considered the applicant must be graduating in the spring of 2023, have a cumulative GPA of 2.5, participated in school and community activities, possess two letters of recommendation and plan on attending an accredited institution. Please review the application prior to submitting. Be prepared to upload your current transcript and two letters or recommendation (one teacher and one outside the school). Recommendations should not be from family or a member of the Scholarship Committee. Please contact your guidance office for questions. We will only be accepting applications submitted via this Scholarship Application website. 

Education and Workforce Development is one of the Chamber’s five areas of focus. The Chamber supports the educational development of the County’s workforce involving businesses at all levels of education. Building the talent supply pipeline by working with public schools K-12, local colleges and institutions of higher education ensures that students are able to graduate with the skills that employers are looking for in the next generation of new hires. 

BCCOC: Scholarship Application






Rachel Edwards

James River High School
Plans to attend Hollins University with a major in Creative Writing and minor in Psychology. 


Tanner Lovern

Lord Botetourt High School
Plans to attend Virginia Tech to study Finance and start a career at a financial firm.


Seth Spickard

James River High School and the Botetourt Technical Education Center Plans to attend Hampden-Sydney College to study Computer Science and National Security. Seth plans to pursue a career in public service with the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 


2022 Scholarship Partners: